So-lah Fee-day

New Sola Fide

Here is a more detailed version of this little illustration. I added some shading/highlights if anyone wants the vector version of this go ahead and comment and I’ll post it.

So-lah Fee-day. That’s how you say it. It means “By faith alone” or “Only faith”. One of the 5 Solas that means exactly what it says. Sola Fide says that nothing I can do, no matter how “good” or “righteous” it is, can help get me to God. Only Jesus’ perfect life and necessarily unnecessary (Can I say that?) death and resurrection have the power to make us perfect in God’s eyes. Nobody wants to be helpless, but knowing that we need to rely solely on Him is what brings us to a place where God can really make a difference in our lives. It’s like this:

Going through the motions doesn’t please you,
a flawless performance is nothing to you.
I learned God-worship
when my pride was shattered.
Heart-shattered lives ready for love
don’t for a moment escape God’s notice. Psalm 51:16-17.

Anyhow, this is good stuff. I hope you get it.

Peace,

T

~ by betterthanhuman on August 13, 2007.

One Response to “So-lah Fee-day”

  1. SOLA FIDE.

    That’s GREAT! Wonderful Artwork. Wish I could do that stuff. I can mess with photoshop, but that is awesome.

    check my page out sometime.
    athousandtongues.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
